Hyderabadreads – a new community to be a part of

In a busy, fast-paced world, we look for different activities that make us take a beat, pause, enjoy the moment, and move forward.

I was randomly scrolling Instagram when I saw a reel from Cubbonreads that showcased how people in Banglore come together in the mornings on Sunday for a few hours to enjoy a silent reading session.

As someone with an affinity for books and who can’t make time to step out into nature, I thought, “What a perfect blend of two beautiful things for a person like me.” I wish there was something like this happening in Hyderabad (my home ground) to experience it. Guess what? Within a week, I saw a story on the same page announcing more such study sessions across different cities, and Hyderabad was one of them.

Being in town for vacation, I joined the second session at KBR Park yesterday (on June 10th,2023).

KBR PARK

I was nervous to walk into the group but soon found a place, relaxed, and opened my book to read. In the middle, we had a guest (peacock) from whom we couldn’t keep our phones away. I lay down under the bright sky, protected by the shadows of the trees that timely sent few breezes, making us feel their presence than just see.

peacock in kbr park
Special guest at silent book reading session

Earth kept moving, and it’s been a while since I witnessed the transition from a charming evening to a soothing night.

A community always pushes us to do better for ourselves and others. In times when the habit of reading is getting special attention as a rare phenomenon than considered normal, on the other side some people are grabbing their first books, making time to finish their one-page targets. And a community like this will only help people push their boundaries and feel they belong.

Coming season (rainy), it’s gonna be challenging to pool people. Still, I want to be hopeful and cheers to many more such sessions.

Follow hyderabadreads on Instagram and be part of a new community

Published by Anusha Velamuri

In my blogs, you can find short stories, life experiences, realizations, and, most importantly, a positive approach to life.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started