Preeti – The most misunderstood character

(Arjun Reddy / Kabir Singh)

Preeti character from Arjun Reddy and Kabir Singh

When I first saw the film, I am sorry, Preeti, all my eyes were on Arjun, just like you. It was when the reviewers pointed out that you were such a dumb character I started to understand you.

They said – 30 mins into the movie, you didn’t utter a word.

You were bloody 18, cocooned in the home under the vigilance of your father (as we have seen the movie, we know and can assess how he was). You were the shy, introverted girl for the first time in the hostel. You were like many other girls in my college, so you felt like a regular girl.

They said – you don’t have any self-respect.

Arjun left you, giving an ultimatum; your father got you married in the meantime. When Arjun comes to your house, you don’t even shoot a glance at him. You felt he didn’t deserve an explanation after what he did was self-respect displayed.

They said – You are not strong.

You decided to have a baby alone instead of having an abortion. You were ready to raise a baby all on your own with your hard-earned money. There I see a strong woman who makes decisions for herself and stands by them.

When you cried while having a video call with Arjun. I felt it, too, Preethi.
When you made a person your whole world, it showed me the commitment you have.
Your smile when you think about Arjun, all your meetings at the airport, and on the terrace of your house shows me how madly you were in love with him.

Post-movie, everyone comments on how you should have behaved, but I have accepted how you are.

Published by Anusha Velamuri

In my blogs, you can find short stories, life experiences, realizations, and, most importantly, a positive approach to life.

2 thoughts on “Preeti – The most misunderstood character

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started