WIDOWED

A promise was made, with whole heart, to stay together through thick and thin, highs and lows.

The heart, which was locked inside a chest and dumped deep in the ocean, now walks out on the floor barefooted, vulnerable yet protected with a magical spell called love, mutual respect, trust that we built together.

Though the spell was invisible, it was rock solid in composition, making us the dream couple for our friends and relatives.
Hand in hand, hours of conversations, losing the sight of time while resting in arms of each other which feels like the world’s safest place, I was in love.

They said time fades love, priorities change, and 10 years later, when I was in the deadliest silent room walking closer to him, my heart ached.
With trembling feet and shaking hands, I saw him lying wrapped in the soothing color of the world- white.

To calm my rising heartbeat, I had to shout out all the pain the visuals were causing right now.
If the saying “Walls have ears” is supposedly true, I am sure they had turned deaf for this lifetime.

Losing your loved one is the biggest punishment the universe can ever impose on anyone. It makes you handicapped without even losing any of your body parts.

We had a 70 years plan, where few said it lasts for 7 lifetimes.
And today, he passed away in an accident, leaving me all alone with his memories.

A year later, a few solo trips around, I met a friend staring at me, wondering how I survived his loss?

The feeling of love is so everlasting that sometimes you don’t even need the person around you to feel loved.
In this uncertain world, facing crisis after crisis feels like being on the verge of end, with losing humanity and increasing trust issues
A thought that “I was once loved” is worth living this life.
Until the next one,
I will survive

Published by Anusha Velamuri

In my blogs, you can find short stories, life experiences, realizations, and, most importantly, a positive approach to life.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started